5.6 C
New York
Saturday, December 6, 2025

What are the legal limits when removing loose obstacles?


Golf rules are complicated! Thankfully, we have guru. our Guy rules know the front book to get back. Do you have a question? He has all the answers.

I have a question about how the rules 15.1 and 8.1a (2) probably work together. Rule 15.1 allows you to move loose obstacles, essentially in any way as long as your ball does not move. It does not say that it is limited by any other rule, so, on its face, 15.1 seems to allow the movement of loose obstacles in any way – even in a way that improves the state of your stroke. But 8.1a (2) says that you cannot move a loose obstacle if it improves the condition that affects your stroke (ie, lies, attitude, row, oscillation). What are the scenarios that limits 8.1a (2)? Rule 15.1 and 15.2 seem to indicate that you can move the trees bark or leave as long as you do not move the ball, even if it improves your lie or stroke; 8.1a (2) seems to indicate that you cannot. —David Wallace, Palm Beach gardens, Fla.

David, you are a gentleman and a scholar. In better circumstances, we could discuss this over a brandy. Sadly, we have to do on paper.

Basically, 8.1a (2) limits the construction of an attitude – this is the only reasonable example we can think of. You are allowed to move loose obstacles in any way, but 15.1 does not tell any place…. “In any way” means using your hand, a hat, a towel, a clip, a leaf fan, what you have, but it does not give you the right to create new and improved conditions for yourself, such as a level attitude.

For the most loose instructions of the impediment from our guru, read in…


golf ball in gravel

Boy of Rules: What is the legal way to remove loose obstacles like pebbles or gravel?

By:

The guy rules



My ball sat near an area of water sentence, where I had a very limited stay. There was a large tree trunk on the edge of the water that I could stand with one foot. Is it permissible to move the trunk so that I can have both legs in the trunk, or is it a construction one? —Andy Lavery, St. Augustine, Fla.

Guy Guy is a little, well, dizzy: “trunk” does not look like the right word for something so easily moved.

Despite no, you are not allowed to move loose obstacles to the position to help your stay. That would be, as you have noticed, the construction of a position and in violation of the rule 8.1a (2), undergoing the general penalty of two shocks in the game of hit and loss of holes in the game.

If you had understood that mistake before you struck the brain, you could undo the violation and move … the big piece of wood … return out of position and avoid punishment.

Want to find the right gear for your bag in 2025? Find a location adapted to the club near you in real golf.

Have a question about the rules? Ask Guy Guy! Send your questions, confusions and comments to the rulesguy@golf.com. We promise that he will not throw the book with you.



Source link

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -