0.3 C
New York
Sunday, December 7, 2025

My partner’s ball slammed with mine before I scored. Now what?


Golf rules are complicated! Thankfully, we have guru. our Guy rules know the front book to get back. Do you have a question? He has all the answers.

My brother and I both lost a green, in the same line, leaving treacherous chips. He was far away, and I said I would mark my ball despite not being on the setting surface, as it could potentially help it. However, before I could, he chipped … and croquetied my ball over the other green side as he crashed near the hole. I replaced my ball in the original place and told him to reproduce his blow, as I would like to score. “Very bad,” was his answer. Punishment? Can’t you score whenever you think your opponent can gain an unfair advantage? —PETER STARSHAK, via email

The relevant term, “Ball Help”, applies only to a ball in Green Green. Ergo, as your ball was not in green, you were not allowed to score your ball just because you thought it could help – your brother was allowed to hit it in the country.

Had your ball been in Green Green, the ruling scenario will roll; Rule 15.3a would punish your brother the general penalty of loss of holes in the game or two strokes in the blow to make kick without waiting for your ball to be scored.

For more instructions for marking the ball from our guru, read in…


LPGA golfi Jennifer Kupcho throws her ball to her Kadiu in Green 2nd on June 17, 2022 during Meijer Lpga Classic for just give in the Blythefield Country Club in Grand Rapids, Michigan.

Guy Guy Guy: Once you have scored a ball, can you replace your caddy replace it?


By:

The guy rules



My competitor scored his ball and caught it. He then replaced his ball and decided without receiving his marker. I told him his ball was not in the game because he left his marker in the country, and thus hit a wrong ball-he had to replace his ball, with a two-shot penalty. He said I was full of baloney. Is the ball in the game if you don’t get your marker? —Robert Tarbox, via email

Indeed, Robert, fixing Guy cannot stomach balone, and alas you are both full of it.

Putting or removing the ball marker has nothing to do with whether the ball is inside or out of the game. Bupkis.

In fact, it is the act of raising or replacing the ball that would change its status. So say, rule 14.1 stops playing a ball without first removing the ball marker, a violation for which your competitor deserved a penalty kick (not two), although it was not a wrong ball.

He has to change his ways, and you have to eat a little crows.

Want to find the right gear for your bag in 2025? Find a location adapted to the club near you in real golf.

Have a question about the rules? Ask Guy Guy! Send your questions, confusions and comments to the rulesguy@golf.com. We promise that he will not throw the book with you.



Source link

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -