The Rules of Golf Are Complicated! Thankfully, we have the teacher. our Rules Guy knows the book inside out. Have a question? He has all the answers.
I was playing in a tournament where a competitor would move his marker from behind his ball to about two inches to the side of the ball before placing it. Only after the hit would he get his marker. Is this legal? Does it matter if he uses it as a polite guide versus being lazy? – Jerry Cunningham, via email
Your damn things, that matters!
By removing the marker, the player is doing what Rule 14.1 says and ensuring that the stroke is not made with the ball marker still in place.
But then, why put it aside in a sustainable way? If he is using it as some sort of swing aid unrelated to the alignment, that would be a problem under Rule 4.3; the first time he hits in that manner would be a general penalty and the second time a disqualification.
If he placed the marker there to assist with his alignment, aim or stance, he would break rule 10.2b(3) and take the general penalty each time. If he’s just lazy, then he’s just lazy.
For more marking instructions from our tutor, read on…
I hit about five feet short of the green on my approach shot, and the grass was short enough that I decided to putt. Problem: My friend was also short, three feet in front of my ball, directly in my shot line. I asked him to mark his ball. He refused, saying you are not allowed to hit the ball anywhere but on the green. I asked him to play first. He refused again, pretending rule dictated that the furthest ball be played first, while also admitting that he didn’t want to give me a reading. I ended up bumping into his ball. But was he correct on the note? – Name hidden, via e-mail
Please allow me to introduce you and your rather unwilling friend (the lawyer, perhaps?) to Rule 15.3b, which states that if a ball interferes with someone’s play, you have the right to pick it up anywhere on the court.
After you have made this request, the other player is obliged to raise the ball; in stroke play, he or she has the choice to play first instead of raising. However, he or she cannot claim the fifth.
Want to find the right accessory for your bag in 2025? Find a convenient club location near you at True Spec Golf.
Have a question about the Rules? Ask Guy Rules! Send your questions, confusion and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise you won’t throw the book at you.

