1.3 C
New York
Sunday, December 7, 2025

Is it legal to take a shot while puffing on a cigar? Rules Guy


The Rules of Golf Are Complicated! Thankfully, we have the teacher. our Rules Guy knows the book inside out. Have a question? He has all the answers.

I often shoot with a large, thick needle in my mouth. Can this be considered a placement aid? If I’m honest, it helps keep my head from moving when I think about it, but I don’t use it on purpose for that reason. —David Fatula, by email

David, the Rules Guy sees this as an offshoot of the ever popular “cigar smoke for wind direction” question.

Why are you placing with that big fat cigar in your mouth? (Paging Swing Doctor Freud….)

If it’s for smoking cigars, no problem. If you were doing it specifically to keep your head at ease, then we undertake Rule 4.3 territory. But is it a violation in itself? No, of course not. Unless it’s a Cuban cigar, in which case… you’re kidding me!

For more guidance from our teacher, read on…


golfer putting the golf ball out of the hole

Rules Guy: Is it legal to tap the grass around the hole before putting?


From:

Rules Guy



When I putt, after I finish the backswing, can I let the clubhead rest on the ground for a split second before I make the forward stroke? Can I eliminate the backswing altogether and start the forward swing after placing the clubhead behind the ball or on the ground or hovering in the air? My friends say they haven’t seen anyone do it so it must be illegal. — Ed Chapman, via email

Ed, we were bored reading your question. The Rules Guy is of the belief that if you’ve never seen someone do something on Tour, there’s a reason, namely, IT. DOES. NO. WORK.

Of course, this is a separate issue from legality. The rules require that you do not push, scratch or remove the ball. Hits like the ones you describe, without a traditional rebound, aren’t automatically making one of these actions illegal, but they do increase the odds. The key is that you must hit the ball squarely with the club head so that there is only momentary contact between the club and the ball.

If that’s what you’re doing, you’re in the clear. If not, you will receive the total penalty of two strokes in stroke play and forfeit the hole in match play for the offence. Rule 10.1a (and the shot itself counts, regardless of the outcome).

Want to find the right accessory for your bag in 2025? Find a convenient club location near you at True Spec Golf.

Have a question about the Rules? Ask Guy Rules! Send your questions, confusion and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise you won’t throw the book at you.



Source link

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -