;)
What do the rules say for a ball that is knocking on the hole from another ball?
Getty Images
Golf rules are complicated! Thankfully, we have guru. our Guy rules know the front book to get back. Do you have a question? He has all the answers.
During a strike competition, I hit my second shot near the hole in a precursor. My opponent’s approach then shot my ball in the hole. I claimed that the ball was determined for a 2, while he argued that I had to replace my ball and enter a 3. I stated a provision before I did this, as I believe a “ball ball” could not be pulled out of the hole and reproduced in that hole. The evaluation committee had never encountered this situation and decided that my result was 3 – and so I lost a play off with 1 stroke. Did I do injustice? —Robert L. Stegge, via email
No, Robert, you were right. The only thing really worrying here is that the Committee had some hesitation on how to rule in this case, but it came to the right conclusion.
You really need to replace your ball without a penalty and then knock on it. Your ball moved from an external influence – the other ball in motion. As a rule 9.6 there is no penalty for any player, and you replace the ball moved. We will also note that “temporary” has absolutely no place in this conversation.
For more ball instructions from our guru, read in…
I played a blind shot from a deep Greenside bunker over the green, then knocked down the sand. Eventually, I reached my ball, lost the resulting Putt and got inside. Walking from the green, I noticed a missing ball marker. It turns out that one of my partners playing forgot to tell me that she would score my ball and transferred it from her line. Should I be allowed to replace my ball in the right place and reproduce from there? Also, a sentence and, if so, to whom? —Terry Christensen, via email
In the hook game, the other player is an external influence and there is no penalty for anyone to relocate. His file under: things happen.
Since you have not had virtual knowledge or safety that an external influence moved your ball – see regulation 9.2b (2) if you are prone – you continued properly, not from a wrong place, and the ball is located. No replace, without reproduction, without nada.
Do you need help by not becoming the greens on your home course? Get a habit Green book By Logix Golf.
Have a question about the rules? Ask Guy Guy! Send your questions, confusions and comments to the rulesguy@golf.com. We promise that he will not throw the book with you.