The Rules of Golf Are Complicated! Thankfully, we have the teacher. our Rules Guy knows the book inside out. Have a question? He has all the answers.
My ball came to rest in the rough near the practice area. There were some practice balls that had crossed the practice area and so were on the course. Some were in my way and I hit them with my club. Was I guilty of playing the wrong ball or practicing on the course and thus incurring a penalty, or are they treated as movable objects? — Keith Netley, via email
Keith, and all Rules Guy readers, it is important to practice courtesy. However, in golf terms, “courtesy” and “practice” are two different things.
As long as you haven’t moved these stray range balls for any reason other than to get them out of the way for courtesy – such as, say, getting a practice shot, getting a full setup and swing, etc. – then such actions come without fault, according to Rules 5.5a and 15.2.
These balls are movable obstacles and you can move them without penalty.
For more obstacle course guidance from our teacher, read on…
My ball is in a red penalty area. Playable, but there is a fence between the ball and the green. The fence is out of bounds, my ball is not. Do I get relief from an immovable obstacle? If so, do I have to land within the penalty area, or just within two club lengths of the nearest relief point? -Gary Ahlstrom, Charlotte, NC
First things first, Gary: No, you don’t get free relief from an immovable obstruction if your ball is in a penalty area, under Rule 17.3.
Further, since the fence is out of bounds, even if the ball was not in the penalty area, you would not get free relief from it. Sadly, this makes your follow-up question moot, although it never hurts to ask!
Want to find the right accessory for your bag in 2025? Find a convenient club location near you at True Spec Golf.
Have a question about the Rules? Ask Guy Rules! Send your questions, confusion and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise you won’t throw the book at you.

