
IN greenyou are entitled to a clear path to the cup. whether free obstacles block your way, the Rules of Golf allow you to remove them.
You probably knew that.
What if we turned this scenario on its head? What happens if your playing partner, putting in front of you, removes a loose obstacle that you think might benefit you—a leaf or a branch, say, that might redirect your ball into the hole? Can you put that free obstacle back where it was?
Undoubtedly, this is a rare occurrence. But as with all matters related to the rules, it pays to know your rights, especially when the answer may surprise you.
That’s where Jay Roberts comes in. like USGA’s senior manager of rules, technology, content and education, Roberts has become the familiar face of the organization’s short, enlightening rules videos, simple explainers of how the written instructions of the game apply in practice.
In the video below — one of the USGA’s most viewed of the year, with more than a million views — Roberts makes a subtle but important point. His playing partner places first and removes a small club from his line. When it’s Roberts’ turn, he replaces the club back into position before taking his shot.
Surprising? Maybe. Permissible? Absolutely.
The rules make it clear that you have the right to play your stroke according to the conditions as you encounter them. If a loose obstruction was already on your line of play when the ball came to rest on the putting green and another player removes it before the turn, you are allowed to place it again.
Consider it another reminder that knowing the rules isn’t just about avoiding punishment. It’s also about understanding your options and the decisions that can lead to lower results.

