4.2 C
New York
Saturday, December 6, 2025

How should the punishment with the wrong ball be evaluated when playing 2 formats?


Golf rules are complicated! Thankfully, we have guru. our Guy rules know the front book to get back. Do you have a question? He has all the answers.

Last week in our league a player hit the wrong ball. The punishment, I know, is two strokes or loss of the hole. Problem: We were playing the medal game AND Match play. For some reason, the Golf director refused to evaluate either the sentence (which dedicated our team to the match and the first place), but assuming that there is a penalty to give, is it about the advantage of the match for the game, conversely, or both? -Thenny Dintich, through e -mail

Denny, there is a reason why USA discourages the combination of the game in the stroke and the game of match – that is, they are not the same. (See Committee Procedures Section 6C (11); Likewise, the world would be a happier place with more people named Denny.)

That is to say, the USA provides guidance on this: “The Committee must apply golf rules as they would apply to each of the match games and brain games, where possible.” In your case, if there are two simultaneous competitions that are happening – a game game, a stroke game – it would mean the player who hit the wrong ball should have received the loss of the hole penalty for the match, but for the game part of the penalty kick and correct the mistake.

While belonging to the situations of other rules when formats combine, generally the rules of the shock game will have to have advantages, for example, concessions should not be allowed.

For more wrong ball instructions from our guru, read in…


Two male players passing through a round of golf

Guy Rules: Happy what happens when teammates hit the wrong ball in a four -ball match?


By:

The guy rules



In a four -ball match, my partner hardens it on two legs, and my ball rotates from the back green. Due to an obstructed appearance, however, we move towards the wrong balls. Our opponents accept two legs for Birdie, so I pocket what is, in fact, my partner’s ball. For practice, my partner decides to chip on green, just to realize that he played the wrong ball when he caught him. Meanwhile, our opponents do it first. Did we win the hole or lost it to play a wrong ball? —Randy Feldner, McLean, VA.

Interesting questions, Randy. While the sharp reaction to the knee is that your partner played a wrong ball, he really just made a practical blow.

While your side may have been confused who was who, you had finished the hole, as his/ his bird was accepted and the other player chose not to fill the hole (see rule 23.3).

Therefore, such a practice was allowed according to the rule 5.5b. You won the hole … Okay, he did … Indeed, you both did.

Want to find the right gear for your bag in 2025? Find a location adapted to the club near you in real golf.

Have a question about the rules? Ask Guy Guy! Send your questions, confusions and comments to the rulesguy@golf.com. We promise that he will not throw the book with you.



Source link

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -