
The Rules of Golf Are Complicated! Thankfully, we have the teacher. our Rules Guy knows the book inside out. Have a question? He has all the answers.
The 2×2 rule is a local rule that provides relief from sprinkler heads and other stationary obstructions when certain conditions are met. If the R&A, PGA Tour and LPGA Tour accept and use the 2×2 rule, why is it only a local rule? Also, is there any way for everyday players to try to turn a Local Rule into a Rule of Golf? — Phil Peterson, via email
Phil, we’ll address the last question first. Golfers are free to write to the USGA at rules@usga.org. The organization will not keep you informed of the process, but will respond and, if your proposal is reasonable, it may be forwarded to the Committee for further consideration.
Now, regarding the 2×2, aka Noah’s Ark Local Rule Pattern, a little background. Its first appearance in the Rules of Golf was the Year of the Tiger, 2000, as “Fixed Sprinkler Heads” (Appendix 1.5.d) and was designed with links-style courses in mind, where playing a shot along the ground near the green was not just common, but possible and intended. This local rule has grown greatly, now in use in most tournaments and in many USGA championships – with the additional stipulation that the handicap and ball must be cut or less (see MLR F-5.2).
John & Jane Q. The public may have noticed that some changes occurred through a Local Rule before it became a Rule – see, for example, the accidental movement on the putting green. It doesn’t always work out that way, but Rules Guy has heard you’re not alone in wanting to see 2×2 become law.
For more Local Rules guidance from our teacher, read on…
A player laced his ball into a wooded area that included an out-of-bounds area. He announced he was hitting a provisional and immediately hit dang next to an identical hook in the same area. After searching, both balls were quickly found to be out of bounds. The player elected to play the original ball, dropping it no closer to the hole at the edge of the fairway (Model Local Rule E-5). He hit it onto the green and made the putt for what we believed to be a fantastic bogey 5. After the round, the league commissioner ruled that he should have recorded a 7, not a 5, with the following explanation: “By electing to hit a provisional from the tee, the player waives the right to use the Local Rule on the first ball that is out. But both may not apply to the same shot if The first ball is really out of bounds, and the provisional is in play? – Jim Olichwier, St. Croix Falls, Wis.
Jim, this commissioner certainly sounds knowledgeable…because he is!
After the player played a provisional, he was not allowed to use the Local Rule in relation to the original ball.
As the umpire was explaining, nothing stopped him from using it on the second ball. Give that commissioner a raise, or at least buy a beer.
Want to find the right accessory for your bag in 2025? Find a convenient club location near you at True Spec Golf.
Have a question about the Rules? Ask Guy Rules! Send your questions, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise you won’t throw the book at you.

