
Ben Crane strikes his Friday’s goal in the 13th hole in Puntacana resort.
Getty Images
Ben Crane’s good dance led him to dance himself.
Playing the third round of the PGA Tour’s Corales Puntacana championship on Saturday, Tour winner five times He went away and the water in the 8th hole at the Puntacana resort in the Dominican Republic, then fell and hit a second ball-and the shooting began a sequence that led to Vinci disqualifying himself because of a wrong ball violation. News came early in the afternoon Through a brief news announcement by PGA Tour.
According to both A video crane posted on his X account And those on the ground, Crane’s first ball had hit the rocks and jumped back to the game, but he did not notice it and believed that his ball had disappeared. Here’s where things are done with hair. His second ball ended next to his first ball, and Crane continued to hit what he thought was the second ball, finished the hole – then noticed a sign of fraud in the ball and became uncertain that he had chosen the right ball.
Shortly afterwards, Crane and the Tour rules committee decided that Crane would have finished the 8th hole with his original ball and did not correct the mistake. As a result, he disqualified himself for a violation of Rule 6.3c (1)which reads in part:
“A player doesn’t have to blow in a wrong ball.
“In Stroke Play, the player gets the general penalty (two penalty kicks) and has to correct the error by continuing to play with the original ball playing it after staying or taking relief according to the rules. Stroke made with the wrong ball and any more strokes before the error is corrected (including shocks and any additional penalties by playing this ball).
“If the player does not correct the error before making a stroke to start another hole or, for the last round hole, before turning their score card, the player is disqualified.”
Rule 6.3C (1) is rarely seen, and a DQ because of it is rarer. Also there is no pardon for finding the first ball after playing the second, as Rules 17.3c It is partially read: “If a player’s ball has not been found and is known or practically sure that the ball came to rest in a penalty area, the player can take a penalty relief according to the rule 17.1d or 17.2. Once the player puts another ball in the game to get the relief in this way, the original ball is no longer in the game. of minutes. ”
Then, Crane shared his side in his video.
“Corales Open, Puntacana today, in the eighth hole, on Saturday,” he began. “And I hit my intention in danger. After hitting at risk, I went ahead and made a fall and played another ball on the road. I hit on the road. There are two auspices on the road, and they were both mine. And (partner playing) David Lipsky and I are like waiting a minute. What is happening?
“Well, we realized that my ball hit the rocks and went out on the right track. Now I have two balls on the road. I assume my ball on the right was the second ball I put into the game. And I play that golf ball and put it out and realized it made a big ball on that ball.
“>>

Nick pastowski
Golfit.com editor
Nick Pastowski is an old editor on Golf.com and Golf Magazine. In his role, he is responsible for editing, writing and developing stories throughout the golf space. And when he is not writing about ways to hit the golf ball farther and narrower, Milwaukee’s locals are probably playing the game, hitting the ball left, right and short, and drinking a cold beer to wash his result. You can turn to him for any of these topics – his stories, his game or his beers – in Nick.piastowski@golf.com.