Golf rules are complicated! Thankfully, we have guru. our Guy rules know the front book to get back. Do you have a question? He has all the answers.
I have recently witnessed something unjust in a pro. A player’s approach shot landed and stopped in the middle of green. His game partner needed a decision before playing his approach, which lasted a few minutes. During this delay, a great wind of the wind exploded through the green, sending the ball from the placement surface. In these unusual circumstances, can the ball really be replaced by where it was? —Mike Keller, via email
It really can’t, Mike, though it may seem unfair. If the ball had not been raised and already replaced, then the player had to play the ball as it stands.
It is no different than the same thing happening after a 250-oral approach and the ball began to roll as the players were walking towards the green-Topi moved by natural forces, so the rule 9.3 says to play it as it sprinkled.
We will also note that the first player could have moved forward and scored his ball while his partner was making the ruling, which would have spared him a situation that really blows.
For more guidance related to the wind from our guru, read in…
Retired boys with season crossings will play for almost any conditions. Recently, we have gathered a round in a very rigid odor. My tie shot in a 3 first landed slightly and, just like I broke up, the wind broke out the flag from the hole. My ball hit the prone flag and followed along the stick in the hole. The flag was properly positioned when playing my intention, so I suspect I was penalized. But can I reproduce my goal, or is it a bird with an assist from the mother nature? —Greg Hayward, via email
While Guy Guy is not so surrounded by peg Like some people, the incident you describe would have worked well on the “best of my life” montage of the bishop. Does it end in a happier note? Yes.
There is nothing in the rules regarding the rules that Guy sees you penalized or that it would require the blow to reproduce. You did not remove the flag while the ball was in motion, and the ball hitting the flag was an accident. As a rule 13.2, accidental deviations result in the ball to be played after staying without a penalty. Choose your ball from the cup … and, please don’t be hit by lightning.
Do you need help by not becoming the greens on your home course? Get a habit Green book By Logix Golf.
Have a question about the rules? Ask Guy Guy! Send your questions, confusions and comments to the rulesguy@golf.com. We promise that he will not throw the book with you.