-1.5 C
New York
Wednesday, December 17, 2025

Can you test a potential ricochet before hitting it?


The Rules of Golf Are Complicated! Thankfully, we have the teacher. our Rules Guy knows the book inside out. Have a question? He has all the answers.

At a PGA Tour event, I saw a pro with a lie too close to a tarp-covered fence to drive the ball forward, so it went back. I thought he had a legitimate, if dangerous, game to throw a forward over the fence. Could he have thrown another ball against the fence to get an idea of ​​how a ricochet might work? —Mike Rogers, via email

Mike, you have come up with a question that we don’t believe the powers that be have yet considered. However, since the powers that be have actually considered the idea of ​​testing the ball toss to see how it will spin, we conclude that it’s a good thing this pro didn’t act on your notion.

Answer: the omission of the test, Clarification 14.4/2 considers the action contrary to the spirit of the game, so the disqualification of the player is justified under Rule 1.2a for serious misconduct. If the professional had made this test “throw”, he would likely have been subject to the same scrutiny and possible disqualification from the competition.

For more test-related guidance from our teacher, read on…


Golf ball in the sand trap. There are no people.

Rules Guy: Can you use a tee to test the depth of the bunker before you hit?


From:

Rules Guy



In a recent tournament, the driving range was adjacent to the first tee. In his warm-up, a player who hadn’t seen the course before was hitting balls long into the fairway to see if he could clear a pond hazard on his opening drive. Clearing the pond leaves a rolling wedge; playing short or sideways requires a longer approach. Since he was getting knowledge of the course, is he penalized for playing the course on the day of the tournament? — Andy Brown, via email

It feels like he should be penalized – that this should be treated differently than the guy who accidentally cuts one on the course from a distance.

And yet, perhaps unsatisfactorily, it is not.

Rule 5.2 indeed prohibits practice on the course before the day’s round. Regardless of where his practice shots ended up, however, this player is taking them from the designated practice area, not the field in violation of Rule 5.2.

Although he may have acquired knowledge, this is not an offence. That said, if there are golfers on the course while he’s doing this, it’s dangerous and worth a pointed warning to the golfer – or finding the committee responsible and asking them to speak to him.

Want to find the right accessory for your bag in 2025? Find a convenient club location near you at True Spec Golf.

Have a question about the Rules? Ask Guy Rules! Send your questions, confusions and comments to rulesguy@golf.com. We promise you won’t throw the book at you.



Source link

Related Articles

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -

Latest Articles

- Advertisement -
- Advertisement -